One pound of anxiety can ruin your whole day.

A dear friend used to say ‘it’s better to be rich and healthy than poor and sick.’ Hard to argue with. But what about the fear of being sick, the fear of being poor? How bad is that? My answer: Extraordinarily.

Right now I’m an absolute news junkie. I’m promising myself to stop after the election, but for now I’m hearing the daily drip of news and just about every word is scary. It’s almost impossible for me, or probably anyone not on Mars or under a rock, to escape the bad economic news. Happily I have Mellow Monkey to soothe my anxiety when I’m thrown off my game. And I’m glad of it. It’s all natural, has other positive effects and is non-addictive. Plus, I make the stuff, so I know how good it is.

But how else are we cope with this current crisis mentality and its attendant fear and anxiety mongering? I wrote an article on this which I’ll put up soon, but here’s the bottom line: It’s never about what your facing, it’s always about how you face it.  

Speaking of facing it: where do you think we spend most of our time? IN OUR HEAD! Obviously. Whether it’s sex or work or anything else, it’s not what’s happening around us, but in us that makes the difference. It’s that non-stop inner tape that infuses our feelings and our actions. And therefore our judgment and decisions. Yikes! Talk about scary! Unless we know how to handle our self-talk.

My advice for crisis times: listen in more than you listen out. When your repetetive words are negative, substitute them with positives. If that doesn’t do it, stop. Meditate. Listen to a tape, take a bath, go for a run — whatever recharges you. Take Mellow Monkey (or whatever non-addictive herbal remedy you choose) and tap into your inner strength. It’s there. It’s indominatable. It will carry you until your best is back.

Sure a pound of anxiety can go through you like a poison, but an ounce of inner balance is the best antidote!

Leave a comment